About us

Executive and stewards

This is your current executive:

cupe-touchicon

Byron Spiers (President)

bspiers@shaw.ca

 

 

cupe-touchiconWendy Boughton (Vice-President)

wendyboughton@gmail.com

 

 

cupe-touchiconMike Caudwell (Treasurer)

mcaudwel@uvic.ca

 

 

cupe-touchiconClaude Champagne (Recording Secretary)

cchampagne@cupe917.ca

 

 

cupe-touchiconRosie Marykuca (Sergeant-at-Arms)

macrosieposie@me.com

 

 

cupe-touchiconCory Yetman (Chief Shop Steward)

molly2010.cy@gmail.com

 

 

Members-at-Large

Mark Buyens, Laura Kiehl, Craig Marykuca, Steve Nixon

Stewards

Department Steward Contact
Electrical Jeff Wood jeffwood@uvic.ca
Plumbing Walt Sly scotchnob@gmail.com
Mechanical Ward Norquist wno@uvic.ca
Janitorial-Days Tony Ferreria tferreria@uvic.ca
Janitorial-Nights Tony Qualizza
Carpentry and Paint Mike Hawkshaw 123hawkshaw@gmail.com
Grounds Jeremy Quinn jerquin@yahoo.com
Food Services Rosie Marykuca macrosieposie@me.com
Food Services Joan Russell joanierussell4@gmail.com
Food Services-Janitorial Joe Toora joetoora@hotmail.com
Security Wellesley Gordon wgordon@uvic.ca
Housing Jodi McLean jodimclean395@msn.com
University Club Laura Kiehl lkiehl@shaw.ca
Alternate Claude Champagne claude@uvic.ca
Auditorium Vacant
PEARF/Atheletics Vacant
Trucks Vacant

Committees

Our local has many committees overseeing lots of different aspects of our local. From pensions, accomodation, health and safety to equity, education and bargaining, just to name a few.

Our local needs members to get involved with the local and help with our committees. Work with your fellow members to make our local strong and effective. A union works better when more people get involved, so start out by joining a committee.

Contact a steward or any member of the executive to let them know you’re interrested

What we do

The members of CUPE Local 917 are involved in keeping the University of Victoria running smoothly on a daily basis. We do a lot of the behind-the-scenes work that quite often goes unnoticed. Whether it be our grounds workers keeping our grounds clean and our gardens healthy, or our trades workers keeping our buildings and equipment in good repair, or our cooks and Food Services workers providing meals for students living in residence, or our housekeepers and janitorial workers keeping our living spaces clean and tidy, or our security workers providing assistance to those who need it, our members are committed to making UVic a great place to live and learn.

UVic works…because we do.